ISA 2021 New

International Safety Awards 2023

The 2023 Awards Winners have been announced!

What are the International Safety Awards?

The 65th International Safety Awards recognise an organisation’s commitment to excellent standards of health, safety and wellbeing management at a specific site or business unit. This year more than 975 applications were received for the International Safety Awards; with 79% of them successfully achieving a Distinction, Merit or Pass grade. These winners included organisations of all sizes, types and sectors, and businesses in the UK, Africa, Asia, India, mainland Europe and the Middle East. 


International Safety Awards Gala Dinner

19 May 2023, The Landmark Hotel, London.

This black-tie event will celebrate the success of the 2023 International Safety Award winners and we will also be announcing the winners of the Sector Awards and Free To Enter Award categories.

The Gala Dinner will be hosted by ex Formula One driver, and the original secret racing driver from BBC’s Top Gear - 'The Stig', Perry McCarthy. This eventwill combine a formal presentation ceremony with a three course, fine dining experience and an evening of live entertainment.

To book your tickets click here.

Due to the phenomenal success of previous events, and high demand, we are delighted to announce that this year we will also be hosting an International Safety Awards Gala event in India on 10 May 2023, exclusively for the winners in India. If you are located in India, please visit our India website for more information on this event.

Award categories

International Safety Award

Recognises commitment to exemplary health, safety and wellbeing management. Award submissions are site specific. Successful applicants will be awarded Distinction, Merit or Pass grades based on their final score. There is no quota of grades to be awarded. All applicants are invited to celebrate their success at the International Safety Awards Gala Dinner in 2023.

Auto-entry Awards

Sector Awards

Recognise overall 'best in class' submissions to the International Safety Awards, by industry sector. This is a great way to stand out amongst peers and encourages best practice. 

Sector Award categories are: 

  • Manufacturing 
  • Oil, gas, mining and quarrying
  • Power and utilities
  • Construction and property activities 
  • Wholesale and retail services
  • Transportation, distribution and storage 
  • Leisure, sports clubs, hospitality and catering
  • Art and culture – museums, galleries
  • Education 
  • Health and social care 
  • Not for profit 
  • Financial, IT, legal, scientific and technical services, media 
  • Local government, defence and public services 
  • Onshore major hazard.

Best in Country Award

All International Safety Award applicants are entered into this award, provided there is a significant number of applications from the same country. The highest scoring and best overall application will be awarded.

Best in Company Award

This award is for organisations with 50 or more participating sites and recognises the site(s) with the most outstanding applications. 

Chief Adjudicator's Award

The Chief Adjudicator's Award is awarded to the ISA application that achieves the highest score each year. This award does not require a submission and the winner/s will receive a certificate of their achievement.

Free to Enter Award categories

For 2023, we are running a total of seven free to enter awards. These awards are open to all and we particularly welcome applications from small businesses who have been impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic.

You do not have to purchase an International Safety Award application to enter any of the following free to enter awards. 


The CEO Award

Rewarding leadership and strategic vision of CEOs who have made a vital contribution to health and safety of their business and to the wider society during 2022.  This award recognises how an individual CEO takes an active role in aligning and championing their organisation's health, safety and wellbeing interests with their internal and external stakeholders.


Applications are now closed.


Health Safety and Wellbeing Ambassador of the Year Award

The Health, Safety and Wellbeing Ambassador of the year Award recognises an employee who, in your opinion, has played a significant role to ensure the health, safety and wellbeing of colleagues and others. The nominee's primary role does not need to be health and safety.

Applications are now closed.

Team of the Year Award

The Team of the Year Award recognises the outstanding achievements resulting in a significant improvement to health, safety or wellbeing from a collaboration of stakeholders which may include members of the organisation, suppliers, subcontractors and/or the wider community.

Applications are now closed.

The James Tye Award

Recognition for an organisation or a team of individuals who have developed and run a campaign in 2022 that has made a significant impact on the health, safety or wellbeing in the workplace.


Applications are now closed.

Wellbeing Initiative Award Powered by Being Well Together

This award recognises and rewards those organisations that have demonstrated a proactive and effective approach to improving employee wellbeing.

Applications are now closed.

Health and Safety Transformation Award - Sponsored by Croner-i

This category is for organisations that have significantly changed or transformed any aspect of health, safety or wellbeing to a significant extent through the use of information. Applicants will be asked to describe the transformation, how it was planned, what information was used to help achieve the transformation and what positive impact it has had on the organisation.


Applications are now closed.

Seize the Opportunity Award

This award recognises organisations that have gone the extra mile to seize health, safety or wellbeing opportunities resulting from a crisis. In being nominated for this award, the organisation is agreeing to their name and photograph being used by the British Safety Council in various media channels to recognise their achievement.

Applications are now closed.


Key dates

September 2022 Applications open for 2023 awards
31 October 2022 ISA Application Webinar
04 November 2022 Early bird pricing deadline
12 January 2023 ISA Application Webinar
10 February 2023 Application submission deadline
03 March 2023 Free to enter Awards -application submission deadline
10 March 2023 Results emailed to applicants
13 March 2023 Winners list published
24 March 2023 Result enquiry deadline
19 May 2023 Gala Dinner


Sponsored by

RS Safety Solutions is our specialist division within RS Group plc. It has more than 150 years of PPE business experience in food and beverage manufacturing and heavy industry. We guide and advise customers on sector-specific legislative requirements. All while offering a world-class range with access to all major PPE manufacturers.